How To: Get Over Bad Grades

We all struggle with something when it comes to school, I am looking at particularly academics. For me, it is something I have struggled with since I was little and that would be the frustrating world of mathematics. I have always struggled with subjects that were based around a black and white principle, luckily next year I no longer have to put myself through pain of sitting through a 75 minute science class. Unfortunately, that is not the case for math. Last year, I had a 73% in math, I wasn’t ecstatic but I was quite satisfied considering the uphill battle I had throughout the semester. This year seem’s be be a little different


A little more than a month ago, I wrote my second math test of the year. Now mind you my first one wasn’t spectacular but I was more or less pleased. Unfortunately, my academic career in math took a hit when my school had to change out my teacher for another one. This did not end in a pleasant event. My second test came back with a less then acceptable mark (I failed, plane and simple). I thought to myself “well, that 73% ain’t looking to bad after all”. So the failure set back, sent me on the 5 step plan of getting over a bad grade. I thought to myself, I can’t be the only one moping about a bad grade, so I decided to make info graph with all the steps and reasonings that I tell myself when the ship feels like it hit the iceberg.getting-over-bad-grades

Now these steps are gonna take sometime, personally I am still working on step 3 but emotionally at step 5. We all cope with set backs differently but I can guarantee you what ever the grade it does not define how successful you may or may not be, no matter what anyone tells you. Although it may seem like the ship is sinking, it’s really only a small hole that with following the right procedure and steps can be patched up in no time!

~Donatella

15 thoughts on “How To: Get Over Bad Grades

  1. Carol J Forrester says:

    I really like your use of graphics in this piece. The tips are really good and I think this would be really useful for anyone studying. You’ve set them out clearly and in a friendly manner which makes it very readable.
    There were a couple of typos earlier on. ‘plane’ instead of ‘plain’ in plain and simple, and ‘to’ instead of ‘too’ ain’t looking too bad.
    Otherwise a really strong, impressive post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hailangeliccreation says:

    As someone with a high standard when it came to grades, I understand how frustrating it can be to try your best in a subject and still get set back. Your layout is relatable in personal experience, easy to read in chart form and full of tips for not only moving on, but doing better the next time around. You not only give tips but explain why they might help. Keep up the effort and good luck blogging and getting those grades up!
    Happy writing! -Author S

    Liked by 1 person

  3. teensywriter says:

    I’m someone who suffers from a lot of nervousness problems, (call it anxiety if you’d like) and so this is really helpful! For me, I usually have super high standards because of that, and am usually in the high 90’s in every class. Because of that, however, as soon as I get a test back it means I go into full out I-am-literally-not-going-to-be-able-to-get-a-job-and-my-whole-life-is-ruined mode for the next week or so (maybe more) and sometimes I can even get panicky in the middle of class and have to leave because of it. So this post really does help, hopefully I’ll be able to get over them easier after using this method, and I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. mykulmitch says:

    I love love love this post! Although I am no longer in the realm of getting grades because I graduated in May of 2015, I remember all too well the nerve wracking process of not only getting grades, but freaking out over the bad ones.

    Looking forward to reading more of your work!

    -Mykul Mitch

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donatella says:

      Thank you so much, I’m glad that you can still relate to it. Posts like this always make me feel like maybe I’m the only one who feels that way, so its awesome to know that other people have gone through it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

